Eminent economist Surjit Bhalla resigned from the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) on December 1, he tweeted on Monday.

The announcement came into light just a day after Reserve Bank of India(RBI) governor Urjit Patel resigned from his post.

Also read: Shaktikanta Das appointed as the new RBI governor

Bhalla was a part-time member of the EAC-PM.

Also read: RBI governor quits: Who is Urjit Patel?

PMEAC is a think tank-like body that advises the Prime Minister of India on crucial economic issues.

The EAC- PM is headed by Niti Aayog member Bibek Debroy. The other economists of the six-member Council include economists Rathin Roy, Ashima Goyal and Shamika Ravi as part-time members.   


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here