Mamata Banerjee | source: twitter

After a cut-throat battle in Bengal with the BJP in which the party was able to bag 18 seats, Mamata Banerjee congratulated the NDA but noted that “all losers are not losers”.

She maintained that her party will comment after a complete review of the poll results.

“Congratulations to the winners. But all losers are not losers. We have to do a complete review and then we will share our views with you all. Let the counting process be completed fully and the VVPATs matched”, she tweeted.

While TMC has been successful in making the lead in the state, winning 23 seats, as per latest reports.

The BJP is leading in Barrackpore, Bankura, Asansol, and Hooghly, whereas, the TMC is ahead in Kolkata (Dakshin and Uttar), Birbhum, Jadavpur and Howrah.

Congress’  key Bengal candidate Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury  made a comfortable lead to get a fifth term in the Lok Sabha.

On BJP’s success, BJP Rajya Sabha MP Roopa Ganguly said, “Left voters have consciously voted for BJP because they knew only a Modi regime at the Centre could end TMC’s fascist rule in Bengal.”

“The end of Mamata regime is a matter of time now,” she added.

Political analysts claim that the results could have serious implications on the state’s Assembly elections due in 2021.

In 2014, the TMC was able to win 34 from 19 in 2009 while the Congress managed to win four. However, both the Left Front and the BJP could only get two seats each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here