Delhi assemebly Elections 2020
Courtesy: ANI

Voting for the Delhi Assembly election began at 8 am in the morning today.

45% voter turnout has been recorded till 5 pm today.

Voter turnout in Delhi assembly polls till 2 pm was 28.07%. The voter turnout recorded by 12 noon was 15.68 %. The turnout till 11:00 am was 6.96% and 0.74% till 9 am.

Manmohan Singh, Arvind Kejriwal, Priyanka Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, President Kovind, Kapil Mishra, Parvesh Verma, Meenakshi Lekhi and other prominent leaders have turned up to vote so far.

Chief Minister of Delhi and AAP party leader, Arvind Kejriwal said, “I appeal to all, especially to the women, to cast their votes today. I am hopeful that the people of Delhi will vote on the basis of the work done. I am hopeful that the Aam Aadmi Party will come back to power for the third time.”

District wise voter turnout shows an increase till 2 pm. The voter turnout list (district-wise) is as follows:

North West   43.31
North East    49.07
South           43.65
Central         38.41
South West   42.48
East             45.49
West            42.2
North           42.43
New Delhi     37.26
Shahdara      43.09
South East    39.41

The voting began at 8 am today and will end by 6 pm. Over 1.47 crore people, including 2.08 lakh first-time voters are eligible to vote today.

Just ahead of polls today around 7.52 in the morning Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate from Patparganj Assembly constituency said that today, people of Delhi will vote for better education and future for their children.

This assembly election is an interesting fight as AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal is fighting to reclaim Delhi through his ‘report card’ and ‘guarantee card’, whereas, on the other front BJP is fighting to win 70 seats and come in power after 20 years. Amid these two, Congress, which has governed Delhi for 15 years is expecting to come back strong and powerful.

Currently, heavy security has been deployed in the national capital all over. Special tight security has been provided at Shaheen Bagh area and likewise other sensitive polling areas. The police have deployed around 40,000 security personnel, 19,000 home guards and 190 companies of Central Armed Police Forces to ensure smooth conduct of the polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here