After the Supreme Court’s landmark judgement decriminalizing gay sex in 2018, the LGBT community is finding a new lease of life in the political arena. The upcoming elections will be the first time where transgenders will vote as third gender. Many of them even filing nominations against big names.

Naresh Jayshwal, a 28-year-old transgender person has filed her nomination as an independent candidate from Ahmedabad east constituency on Thursday. Jayshwal will face congress candidate Gita Patel a close associate of the Patidar leader Hardik Patel. Sitting BJP MP Paresh Rawal represents the constituency.

Naresh Jayshwal says and I quote “It is high time transgenders enter the political fray and do justice to the marginalized community.” She also gives a call for voters to think beyond political parties and elect right individuals. “I don’t understand the buzz around the BJP and the Congress. Both parties are hardly concerned about the problems of the people” she added.

Recently Aam Aadmi Party fielded Bhawani Ma, a transwoman to contest from Prayagraj constituency. Bhawani Ma is Kinnar Akhada Mahamandaleshwar and is its North India incharge.

In South too, one transgender Tamanna Simhadri is contesting from Mangalagiri constituency in Andhra Pradesh against Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Chief Chandrababu Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh.

Another transgender Kajal Nayak was fielded by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) from Korei for the Assembly elections in Odisha.

The time has come for the LGBT community to represent themselves in the legislatures and undo the injustice meted out to them over decades.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here