Raj Babbar, Congress, Verdict 2019, resignation

In the wake of BJP registering a massive victory almost all over the country, Congress Uttar Pradesh Chief Raj Babbar sent his resignation to the party’s President Rahul Gandhi due to party’s dismal performance in the Lok Sabha elections.

As per sources, Raj Babbar offered to resign from his post on Friday as he took “moral responsibility” of the Congress defeat in Uttar Pradesh in the Lok Sabha elections.

Raj Babbar lost to BJP’s Rajkumar Chhar in Uttar Pradesh’s Fatehpur Sikri with the margin of 4,95,065.

The saffron party erupted victorious in Uttar Pradesh by winning 63 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats, puncturing the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) alliance in the state.

While SP won five seats, its alliance partner BSP nine.

Not only did BJP defeat the grand alliance in the state but uprooted Congress President Rahul Gandhi from his bastion Amethi. Rahul Gandhi won the Amethi Lok Sabha seat for the first time in 2004. Now, Union Minister Smriti Irani avenged her defeat in 2014 by winning the seat with 55,120 votes.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi  won the Varanasi seat for the second consecutive time by 6,74,664 votes, defeating SP Shalini Yadav by a margin of 4,79,505 votes.

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath attributed the impressive perfomance by his party to the “alert voters” who he said have rejected the ‘mahagathbandhan’ of opposition parties.

Sonia Gandhi retained Rae Bareli seat, defeating her nearest rival by 1,67,178 votes.

SP founder Mulayam Singh Yadav won Mainpuri seat, while his son and SP president Akhilesh Yadav, who contested from Azamgarh, won by 2.59 lakh votes.

The counting of votes is still underway in Uttar Pradesh and the Election Commission has declared results of 79 seats as of 10:30 am on Friday.

In 2014 polls, the BJP had won 71 seats and its ally Apna Dal (S) two, while the SP had bagged five seats and the Congress two. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here