While the pink flag of the Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) flew high in the state after the counting on December 11, a lone saffron flag was waved in Goshamahal constituency. Raja Singh Lodh is the sole Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader to win in Telangana assembly elections.

Mr. Singh, known in many quarters for his “inflammatory” comments, and who has over 60 cases against him, mostly for “hate speeches”, retained his Goshamahal Assembly constituency in Hyderabad.

Also read: Telangana Election Results 2018: KCR hints at forming a new ‘national party’

The BJP contested in 118 Assembly segments out of the total of 119, leaving one seat to its ally, the Yuva Telangana party.

With high voltage campaigning by PM Narendra Modi and BJP party president Amit Shah, the BJP failed to influence the people of Telangana.

Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath had campaigned for Lodh in Telangana.

Also read: Drubbing of BJP is a message for PM, says Rahul

Earlier, BJP had five MLAs in the previous Assembly. The party contested the 2014 Assembly elections in alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Although the Congress won in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, it failed to make a mark in Telangana. Despite Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi’s massive rally in the state, the Congress party fell weak in front of the immense TRS influence.

Furthermore, with the conclusion of the first assembly elections of the newly formed state, K Chandrashekhar Rao is all ready to take oath as the CM for the second term. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here