The Speaker of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly on Thursday accepted the resignation of sixteen rebel Congress MLAs.
In a late-night development, Speaker Prajapati accepted the resignation of all sixteen MLAs who broke away from the party along with Jyotiraditya Scindia. A total of 22 MLAs had rebelled against the Kamal Nath government and submitted resignations to the Speaker on March 15.
From 114 MLAs after 2018 assembly elections, the total strength of Congress party is reduced to 92, well short of the required majority.
The Supreme Court on Thursday asked Madhya Pradesh assembly speaker to conclude the floor test before 5 pm on Friday.
The court, while exempting rebel MLAs from joining the house, had ordered the floor test to be conducted by raising hands. The court also asked the floor test to be videographed.
Chief Minister Kamal Nath likely address the media on Friday. Sources say Kamal Nath may submit his resignation before facing the floor test.
The Congress party ended BJP’s 15-year rule by winning 114 seats in the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections in 2018.
Reacting to the Speaker’s decision, Former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that the Speaker should have accepted the resignations earlier.
Kamal Nath government also had the support of four independents, two Bahujan Samaj Party, and one Samajwadi party MLA.
The Speaker had accepted the resignation of six MLAs after Chief Minister Kamal Nath removed all six MLAs from the cabinet.
With the Speaker’s decision, the total strength of Madhya Pradesh assembly has come down to 222 from 230.
With Congress losing 16 more MLAs, the majority mark has come down to 104. The BJP had won 107 MLAs in the 2018 assembly elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here