narendra modi, BJP, BIMSTEC, swearing-in

Leaders of the neighbouring BIMSTEC countries have been invited for PM-designate Narendra Modi on May 30th.

The invitation to the countries is in line with the government’s focus on the ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy, Ministry of External Affairs spokesperson Raveesh Kumar said on Monday.

“Government of India has invited the leaders of the BIMSTEC member states for the swearing-in ceremony. This is in line with Government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy” Raveesh told reporters on Monday.

“The President of the Kyrgyz Republic, who is the current Chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, and the Prime Minister of Mauritius, who was the Chief Guest at this year’s Pravasi Bhartiya Divas, has also been invited” he added.

Member countries of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) include Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand besides India.


Till now, Pakistan PM Imran Khan has not been invited.

(With inputs from ANI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here