In Goa 10 out of 15 Congress MLAs resigned on Wednesday (source: twitter)

As if troubles for the Congress party were not enough in Karnartaka, a similar political drama was witnessed in Goa where 10 of the 15 Congress MLAs resigned on Wednesday.

Deputy Speaker of Goa Assembly Michael Lobo has confirmed that all resignations were accepted. Meanwhile, the rebel lawmakers allegedly joined the BJP.

“Ten Congress MLAs, along with their Opposition Leader, have merged with BJP. The strength of BJP has now risen to 27. They had come for development of the state and their constituency. They have not put forward any condition, they have joined BJP unconditionally,” Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant told the media.

The MLAs, led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, met Goa Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar Wednesday evening and gave him a letter regarding their break-up with party, reported PTI.

The MLAs include Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserratte, Jennifer Monserrate, Francis Silveira, Filipe Nery Rodrigues, Clafasio Dias, Wilfred Dsa, Nilkanth Halarnkar, Isidor Fernandes and Chandrakant Kavlekar.

With 10 MLAs changing sides in Goa, the Congress will be reduced in the House to a mere 5 seats. The BJP, which is the single largest party in the state with 17 seats, will now have a majority with 27 seats. Goa Forward Party and Independents have three each, while one MLA each is from NCP and MGP.

In Karnataka, the Congress-JDS coalition faces a devastating political crisis with as many as 16 MLAs resigning, leaving the current government shattered.

The anti-defection law mandates that two-thirds of the strength of a party should agree for a ‘merger’. The amendment, which came into force in January 2004, does not recognise a ‘split’ in a legislature party and instead, it recognises a ‘merger’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here