Asaduddin Owaisi, oath, Lok Sabha, Parliament, Lok Sabha session, Jai Shri Ram, Vande Mataram
Courtesy: LSTV

Amid loud chants of ‘Jai Shri Ram’, All-India Majelis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) president Asaduddin Owaisi took oath as the Member of Parliament in Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

Owaisi was also greeted with ‘Bharat Mata Ki Jai’ and ‘Vande Mataram’ slogans after he was walking down the floor of the Lok Sabha to take his oath.

However, Owaisi hit back by ending his speech with “Jai Bheem, Jai Meem, Takbeer Allahu Akbar, Jai Hind” before walking away promptly.

When asked about the sloganeering in the Lok Sabha, Owaisi said, “It is good that they remember such things when they see me, I hope they will also remember the constitution and deaths of children in Muzaffarpur.”

Earlier on Tuesday, ‘Jai Shri Ram’ slogans were raised when  Union minister of state for environment and forest Babul Supriyo took oath as Lok Sabha MP. The chant was a jibe at West Bengal’s ruling party Trinamool Congress and state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who has been engaged in a bitter political battle with BJP in the state.

Also Read: ‘PM shouldn’t lose right to vote’ says Owaisi to Baba Ramdev on his birth control suggestion

The 17th Lok Sabha session commenced on Monday with the Prime Minister Narendra Modi who was the first one to take oath along with several prominent members such as Defence Minister Rajnath Singh ,Congress president Rahul Gandhi, , Home Minister Amit Shah, Textiles Minister Smriti Irani and Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari. 

The second batch of Lok Sabha MPs took oath on Tuesday, on Day 2 of the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The 50-year-old, Asaduddin Owaisi has been re-elected as the Member of Parliament for the third time from Hyderabad constituency. He won the seat against BJP’s Dr Bhagwanth Rao with a humongous margin of 2,82,186 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here