The Election Commission of India on Sunday announced the final dates of the Lok Sabha elections which will be commencing from April 11.

The states will go to poll in seven phases, unlike last general elections which went to polls in nine phases. The results of the polls will be out on May 23.

PhasesDate of pollingStatesConstituencies
1April 112091
2April 181397
3April 2314115
4April 29971
5May 6751
6May 12759
7May 19859


Election to Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha to be held with the general elections to the Lok Sabha.

Jammu and Kashmir Assembly elections will not be held alongside the Lok Sabha polls, with the Election Commission citing security reasons for the decision.

The states of Bihar, UP and West Bengal will go to polls in seven phases. Jammu and Kashmir will have five phases of polling.

Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra will have voting in four phases, while Assam and Chhattisgarh will have three phases.

Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura will have two phases of voting. All the remaining states will vote in a single phase.

The Election Commissioner also said that exam schedules were also kept in mind while deciding the election dates.

CEC Sunil Arora said that the number of voters has increased by 84.3 million for these elections compared to the last one.

Ninety crore people will be eligible to vote in the Lok Sabha elections, of which 15 million are in the 18-19 age group, he said.

CEC Sunil Arora said, “There will be approximately 10 lakh polling stations in this Lok Sabha Elections as compared to 9 lakh polling stations in 2014.”

The CEC added that due to complaints about the security of EVMs, last-mile transportation of these machines will be tracked through GPS in the upcoming polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here