All the 21 Congress MLAs resign from cabinet ‘voluntarily’ from the cabinet on Monday in the midst of the political turmoil in the state. Karnataka Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah told “21 congress ministers have resigned voluntarily” addressing the media. 

The 13 month old coalition government came to a showdown as it plunged into crisis after 11 MLAs resigned from the membership of the assembly on July 6th. 

Senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh in said in Lok Sabha said his party had no role in orchestrating the political turmoil in Karnataka. “Our party has nothing to do with what is happening in Karnataka. Our party has never indulged in horse trading” he said.

“We’re committed to maintaining dignity of Parliamentary democracy. Trend of submitting resignations was started by Rahul Gandhi in Congress, it wasn’t started by us. He himself asked people to submit resignations, even senior leaders are submitting resignations,” added Rajnath Singh.


Deepening the political crisis in Karnataka, an independent MLA Nagesh and Minister has submitted his resignation letter to the Governor today. 

Another legislator of the Congress-JDU coalition had threatened to resign on Monday. Bidar North MLA Rahim Mahmood Khan said he would take a decision after meeting with the Deputy Chief Minister at his residence. Deputy CM Parameshwara is holding a meeting with Congress leaders in this regard.

Also Congress MP DK Suresh told “All Karnataka Congress Ministers are going to resign” to a news agency ANI.

Karnataka MLAs who submitted their resignations on Sunday refused to withdraw their resignations. The MLAs who resigned even refused to attend the Congress Legislature Party meeting scheduled to be held on Tuesday.

Also read Karnataka crisis: 14 MLAs from Cong, JD(s) resign says H Vishwanath

Chief Minster HD Kumaraswamy who was on a holiday had returned on Sunday night to take stock of the political crisis that was sparked on Saturday. Upon his return he met with many JDS leaders and Congress leaders in a bid to rescue the year-old coalition government.

Karnataka Congress Legislature Party leader Siddharamaiah & Ministers UT Khader, Shivashankara Reddy, Venkataramanappa, Jayamala, MB Patil, Krishna Byre Gowda, Rajshekar Patil, Rajshekar Patil, DK Shivakumar have reached Dy CM G Parameshwara’s residence for breakfast.

Deputy CM of Karnataka said “I have called a breakfast meeting of all ministers belonging to Congress Party to discuss the present political developments and the fallout. We know what BJP is trying to do. If need be, all of us may resign and then accommodate the MLAs.”

Also read Karnataka crisis: Clear picture to emerge after July 12 says Congress

While the BJP leaders who are sure about the ‘fall of the government’ are meeting up to discuss on the future course of action to be taken by the party in Karnataka. BJP leader Shobha Karandlaje had reached Former CM Yeddyurappa’s residence to hold talks.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here