Uddhav Thackeray Image Courtest ANI

The newly-appointed Chief Minister of Maharashtra Uddhav Thackeray won the floor test with 169 votes in favour of the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi government.

The floor test was administered by Pro-tem speaker and senior NCP leader Dilip Walse-Patil.

Patil was appointed as the Protem Speaker of the Maharashtra Assembly on November 29. He replaced BJP’s Kolambkar, who was appointed before when the MLA’s administered oath.

On November 29 Thackeray formally took over as Maharashtra CM with a huge crowd circling him at the Mantralaya. Uddhav and Aaditya Thackeray placed wreaths, bowed and paid obeisance at the memorial near Mantralaya.

The next big event in the Maharashtra politics will be the election of the Assembly Speaker, which is expected to be held on December 1.

The Bharatiya Janata Party said that they will contest for the post of the Speaker and has nominated legislator Kisan S Kathore as its candidate.

On the other hand, the Vikas Aghadi alliance has proposed the name of Nana Patole for the post of Speaker.

Six Cabinet ministers assumed charge of their respective chambers along with CM Uddhav Thackeray. They were- Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai, NCP’s Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal, and Congress’ Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here