Karnataka CM newly elected MLAs
Courtesy: ANI

The oath ceremony of 13 out of 15 newly-elected MLAs of Karnataka after the December 5 bye-polls was conducted at Vidhana Soudha’s Banquet Hall on Sunday. The oath was administered by the Karnataka Speaker Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri.

All elected BJP MLAs and independent MLA Sharath Bachegowda attended the swearing-in ceremony as scheduled, however, elected Congress MLAs Rizwan Arshad and HP Manjunath skipped the ceremony due to the stir against the Citizenship Amendment Act 2019 nationwide. Both the MLAs have not released any statement or comment regarding the same.

With the swearing-in complete, the portfolio allocation for the new MLAs are expected to be approved by the BJP central leadership led by the Home Minister and party chief Amit Shah.

The bye-elections were necessitated after 17 MLAs were disqualified following their rebellion against the then Congress-JD(S) coalition government. Their rebellion brought down the Congress-JD(S) government and paved the way for the BJP to come to power.

In the results declared on December 9, all rebel MLAs who were previously with the Congress-JD(S) won the bye-polls on a BJP ticket, barring MTB Nagaraj and AH Vishwanath.  While Sharath Bachegowda, a BJP rebel defeated.

ALSO READ: Anti-CAA protests: Uttarakhand on high alert, security tightened


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here