Image source: Twitter

Ending the political crisis in Karnataka, BJP’s BS Yediyurappa oath as the Chief Minster today at 6 pm to serve the state for a fourth time at the age of 76.

Yediyurappa was sworn in at Raj Bhavan with the oath being administerd by Governor Vajubhai Vala.

The Governor Vajubhai Vala had invited Yediyurappa to form the government on Friday.

Yediyurappa had written to Governor to administer oath around 6 pm on Friday. BJP leaders told it is unlikely that a new cabinet would be sworn in today.

BS Yediyurappa wrote on twitter that on the instructions by party president Amit Shah and working president JP Nadda, he had met the Governor of Karnataka to stake claim to form the government which he had approved.

On the status of rebel MLAs, Karnataka MP Shobha Karandlaje told if the rebel MLAs are firm on their stand and if they want to join BJP, we will welcome them.

Meanwhile Congress leader and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah lashed out at BJP saying the party has no regard for the democratic values. After getting a nod from the Governor, Siddaramaiah claimed that BJP is still far from the halfway mark in the Assembly.

He added that BJP has only 105 seats and Yediyurappa will have to prove his majority in the house after forming the government without facing elections by toppling the elected government. “All this only proved that BJP has no belief in Democratic values,” said the Congress leader.

After the fall of HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-JD(S) government on Tuesday, BJP finally approached the Governor following an impasse on Friday who invited the party to form the government. The coalition government secured only 99 votes as against BJP’s 105 votes in the legislative assembly.

The coalition lost the majority in the house after 15 MLAs resigned and withdrew their support. Huge political drama unfolded in Karnataka politics following the resignations including the Supreme Court’s intervention. Speaker Ramesh Kumar on Wednesday disqualified 3 rebel MLAs.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here