AIADMK’s Palaniswami and . Panneerselvam have been at odds on over the AIADMK’s chief ministerial candidate for the 2021 Assembly election

In a sign that the power tussle within the AIADMK will continue, the second round of party leaders meet on Monday failed to bring any resolution to the two camps headed by Paneerselvam and Palaniswami.

AIADMK once again failed to nominate a CM candidate as the two leaders went on head to head during a dramatic party discussion at the party headquarters in Chennai. The highly anticipated meeting saw attendance of AIADMK presidium chairman E Madhusudhanan, Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisami, Deputy Chief Minister O Pannerselvam, and other executive members.

Amongst the fanfare and each camp supporting their leaders, however failed to zero in on a single name of a CM candidate for the upcoming 2021 Assembly elections. The party at a press meet only announced that the CM candidate’s name will be announced on Oct 7.

A similar scene was seen on Sept 9, when the party had held an emergency meeting in which for the first time party co-coordinator Mr. Palaniswami and coordinator Mr. Panneerselvam visited the AIADMK office after the eruption of the debate between their respective camps over the AIADMK’s chief ministerial candidate for the 2021 Assembly election.

There was no information on the 11-member steering committee, which has been the primary demand of the Pannerselvam faction ever since its merger with the party in 2017.

But, the committee passed 15 resolutions in the meeting, including the AIADMK’s stand against the three-language policy.

The party urged the Centre to scrap NEET, disburse Goods and Services Tax dues, and provide support for Covid-19 relief and other subsidies.

The committee condemned the Karnataka government’s initiative to construct a dam across the Cauvery river at Mekedatu. The party also questioned the ‘cultural committee’ set up by Union culture minister Prahlad Patel to study the origin and evolution of Indian culture. The AIADMK wants inclusion of members from south India, especially from Tamil Nadu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here