After re-sealing the deal with the Shiv Sena ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced its alliance with All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) in Tamil Nadu.

Also read: Opposition Unites against BJP, announces pre-poll alliances ahead of Lok Sabha elections

The alliance is for all 39 seats in Tamil Nadu and one in Puducherry.

With AIADMK, which is the largest party in Tamil Nadu, the alliance is expected to be a big boost for the BJP’s prospects in the state.

Earlier today, PMK and AIADMK announced their alliance to contest together.

In 2014, the BJP and the PMK together won only one seat each. The AIADMK had swept the Lok Sabha seats with 37 seats.

Meanwhile, the MK Stalin led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and Congress are likely to seal a seat-sharing pact. However, talks have remained inconclusive with both sides not being able to agree on allotment of constituencies.

Despite their differences, the BJP and Sena have rekindled their alliance saying it was in national interest. The Shiv Sena will contest on 23 seats while the BJP will fight in 25 seats. The BJP has slowly but surely been working out their alliance partners in various states.

On the other hand, the Congress has been trying hard to stitch together a Mahagatbandhan ahead of 2019. The Congress was left out of the SP-BSP deal but has been working hard on cobbling up other alliances that may turn out to the key to 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here