Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders from Telangana met Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and the party’s national president N Chandrababu Naidu here on Thursday.

They reportedly discussed candidates for the forthcoming, Telangana assembly elections due on December 7 to elect members from 119 constituencies and seat sharing issues. The TDP is likely to announce the names of the candidates on tomorrow.

The TDP is contesting Telangana assembly elections as part of the grand alliance which comprises the Congress, the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS).

Though the TDP is assured of contesting in 14 seats, constituencies for TJS and CPI are yet to be finalised.

The counting of votes in the state will take place on December 11. The elections were originally scheduled to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections in 2019, but K Chandrasekhara Rao-led cabinet decided to dissolve the assembly on September 6. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Congress, Telangana Jana Samithi and Telugu Desam Party are considered to be the main political contenders in the fray.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here