Mary Kom | Picture: Twitter

Six-time World Champion Mary Kom, Sarita Devi and Lovlina Borgohain are among the 10 boxers who will represent India at the World Boxing Championship.

On Thursday, After three days of trials at the Indira Gandhi indoor stadium, boxers were selected for the World Championship.

However, Mary Kom (51 Kg) and Lovlina Borgohain (67 Kg), however, had already qualified for the World Championship on the basis of their consistency in recent times.

Although, Mary Kom’s did not have to go through trial bouts, a decision which was lambasted by her rivals.

Nikhat Zareen and Vanlal Duati were told their bout has been postponed to Wednesday. Although, their bouts were eventually called-off.

Zareen has appealed BFI president Ajay Singh and the sports ministry for help, expressing “helplessness” and seeking a “fair trial”.

She said that if there are rules for all of us, it needs to be consistent irrespective of the stature of a particular boxer and unfair practices should not be used for boxers trying to avoid participating in the trials.

The Hyderbad boxer further added by saying that she is looking forward to an immediate and fair solution.

Mary Kom, after shifting to 51 kg category, won a gold medal in India Open in May. Interestingly, she defeated Nikhat Zareen in semi-final and Vanlal Duati in the final.

Squad: Manju Rani (48kg), Mary Kom (/search?query=Mary Kom) (51kg), Jamuna Boro (54kg), Neeraj (57kg), Sarita Devi (60kg), Manju Bomboriya (64kg), Lovlina Borgohain (69kg), Saweety Boora (75kg), Nandini (81kg), Kavita Chahal (+81kg).

The World Championships will take place in Russia’s Ulan Ude from October 3 to 13, 2019.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here