A | Picture: Cricketaustralia.co.au

With the ICC Cricket World Cup concludion two weeks back, the focus now shif towards ICC’s Test Championship , which will be played for 2 years.

The Ashes will kick start the tournament from August 1 and the tournament will see 9 teams locking horns across 72 tests across 27 series in different continents.

Organised by the member boards, the matches will be played just like any bilateral series, but with the added incentives of a competition and a World Champion. World’s best teams go head to head and every game in a series will count for points.

Opponents were scheduled by mutual agreement of the competing members and with a number of the fixtures already committed within the existing member rights agreements.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has said that World Test Championship will give more context to cricket and Test Cricket in general. Several players including James Anderson and Australia’s Test captain Tim Paine came out in support of the format.

Top 9 teams to participate


Team                                   Matches

England                               22

Australia                              19

India                                   18

South Africa                         16

West Indies                          15

New Zealand                        14

Bangladesh                          14

Pakistan                               13

Sri Lanka                             13

Team India will play 18 Tests across 6 series, starting with a Test series against West Indies which starts from next month.

Points distribution

2 Tests6030200
3 Tests402013.30
4 Tests3015100
5 Tests241280


What else is new

Ashes starts from August 1
England’s Jersey for the Ashes | picture: ECB.co.uk

For the first time ever in International Test Cricket, Players will be allowed to sport their name on the Team jersey. The pattern has been used by teams in Australia and England’s Domestic cricket.

Also, ICC has introduced concussion substitutes in all formats of men’s and women’s international cricket and for First-Class cricket.

The decision will be made by nedical representatives of the team and the player should be a like-for-like replacement, but it need to be approved by the match refree.

Moreover, Captain will not be suspended for slow over rate with the ICC instead deciding to cut points and fine the entire team for any such violations.

“In World Test Championship matches, a team that is behind the required over-rate at the end of a match will have two competition points deducted for each over it is behind, the ICC said recently. Captains will no longer be suspended for repeated or serious over-rate breaches. All players should be held equally responsible for slow over-rates, and as such will be fined at the same level as the captain,” ICC was quoted saying.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here