David Warner and Steve Smith make a comeback to the national team (Photo: ABC)

Defending champions Australia have named their official 15-man squad for the upcoming 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

David Warner and Steve Smith make a return to the national team as Peter Handscomb and Josh Hazelwood miss out from the World Cup squad.

Along with Handscomb and Hazelwood, major names like Ashton Turner and Andrew Tye also could not find a spot in the World Cup squad.

The Australian squad picked has four top order batsmen in Aaron Finch, David Warner, Usman Khwaja and Shaun Marsh.

Steve Smith will be marshaling the middle order alongside Glen Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis who have been picked as spin bowling all rounders.

Alex Carey is the lone wicket-keeper in the whole squad.

Adam Zampa should the preferred spinner with Nathan Lyon providing back-up for the 27-year old.

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins and Jason Behrendorff will constitute of the Kangaroos’ pace battery.

Australia have a conundrum to solve for the top order with Warner and Smith returning from their exile. While Usman Khawaja has been a perfect partner for Aaron Finch at the top, he is expected to move down to No.3 to accommodate Warner.

Finch reckons that both are able to partner him at the top and it is not yet decided who will open alongside him. He said “Davey’s record at the top is unbelievable and Uzzie’s been in great nick recently. Whichever way we go, there’s scope to mix and match that as we go through the tournament. We’ll work that out, there’s nothing set in stone right now.

The Australian skipper continued “I think all three of us could (bat at No.3). I’ve probably got the least experience out of all three of us in that position in limited-overs cricket. It’s something we’ll juggle and tinker with. I think a left-right combination is probably the way we’ll go, it just depends on which left-hander [opens].”

Also read: New Zealand’s squad for 2019 World Cup

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (C), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here