Gillette T20I series: Australia vs Sl 2nd T20I
Australia vs Sri Lanka | Picture:

Australia sealed the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka after thumping the Lankan Lions by 9 wickets in the second T20I on Wednesday.

With this win, the Aussies lead the three-match T20I series 2-0, having won the first T20I by 134 runs.

Chasing a target of 118 runs, the hosts suffered a massive as Aaron Finch was dismissed for a duck. Malinga took the only wicket of the inning.

Steve Smith then joined opener David Warner in the middle.

The duo went on to stitch an unbeaten match-winning stand as Australia won the game with seven overs to spare.

Both the players completed their half-centuries as Davi Warner scored 60 while Steve Smith stitched 53 runs.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka chose to bat first at the Gabba.

However, the decision backfired as the visitors lost the wicket of the opener, Kusal Mendis, in the second over.

Avishka Fernando and Danushka Gunathilaka then added 25 runs for the 2nd wicket, before Billy Stanlake bowled the latter.

The visitors were reduced to 77/6 after the end of the 12th over.

Sri Lanka were bundled out for 117 in the 19th over as they failed to stitch a solid partnership.

With 27, Kusal Perera was Sri Lanka’s highest scorer.

For Australia, skipper Pat Cummins, Billy Stanlake, Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar scalped a couple of wickets each.

Meanwhile, Richardson failed to get any wicket.

The third and final T20I will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on November 1.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here