Imran Tahir celebrating a wicket (Photo:

The carnival of the Indian Premier League is back with its twelfth edition and we have CSK vs RCB in the first match.

Chennai Super Kings defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets after the visitors just put 70 runs on the board.

The fans at MA Chidambaram Stadium would have expected to see a lot of runs today but MS Dhoni’s perfect game-plan allowed Chennai to stop Bangalore at just 70 on a batting-friendly pitch.

Parthiv Patel starred for Bangalore with a steady innings of 29 runs from 35 balls.

Chennai decided to play with only three foreigners in their starting XI as Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo and Imran Tahir were selected in the playing XI.

The visitors went with A B de Villiers, Moeen Ali, Shimron Hetmyer and Colin de Grandhomme as their overseas players with Shivam Dube and Navdeep Saini making their debuts for RCB alongside Hetmyer.

The hosts won the toss and asked Bangalore to bat first. Virat Kohli and Parthiv Patel kicked off the proceedings but Kohli faltered early as he got out for just 6 runs.

Moeen Ali stepped in and hit the first six of IPL 2019 before becoming Harbhajan Singh’s second victim of the night.

de Villiers was dropped on 7 by fellow South African Tahir but the former Proteas skipper, was back to the pavilion on the next ball as Ravindra Jadeja made no mistakes in taking the catch on the next ball.

Hetmyer didn’t look in the right mindset as he got on duck while trying to steal a single run that was never possible with Raina fielding in the cover area.

Debutant Shivam Dube failed to impress as he got out for just 2 runs off a Tahir delivery before de Grandhomme gave away his wicket at just 4 runs from a Jadeja delivery.

Another debutant in Saini fell to Tahir after putting just 2 runs on the board. The South African leg spinner got his third wicket of the night as Yuzvendra Chahal got out for just 4 runs.

Umesh Yadav tried to remain on crease for a long time but got out for 1 run off 10 balls. Patel was the last man to go down after scoring 29 runs.

Harbhajan Singh was the chief destroyer of top order as he took three wickets for just 20 runs removing Kohli, Ali and de Villiers.

Imran Tahir also took three wickets while giving away just 9 runs in his four-over spell while Jadeja took two wickets in his spell.

Shane Watson faltered early for a duck off a Chahal delivery but Ambati Rayadu ensured the smooth progression of the run chase with timely runs.

Suresh Raina fell on 19 off an Ali delivery as he caught at long on while he tried to clear the boundary line.

Rayadu was clean bowled at 28 off a Mohammed Siraj delivery when he tried to accelerate the chase.

Kedar Jadhav and Jadeja safely took CSK home as they sealed the 7-wicket win.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here