D'Arcy Short
D’Arcy Short in action | Picture: Hobart Hurricanes Twitter

Cricket Australia on Monday named D’Arcy Short as the replacement for injured pacer Sean Abbott for their upcoming three-match ODI series in India.

Abbott suffered a moderate side strain while playing for Sydney Sixers during their 1 run triumph over local rivals Sydney Thunders in the Big Bash League (BBL) on Saturday.

“It is extremely unfortunate for Sean who is very much a part of our white-ball squad plans leading into the ICC T20 World Cup and the World Cup,” National Selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

“D’Arcy offers the squad another spinning all-rounder option along with Ashton Agar, which along with the four world-class fast bowlers and Adam Zampa balances the squad out nicely. His proven record and ability to bat anywhere in the order will also be a great asset to the squad,” he added.

Australia squad for three ODIs: Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vc), Pat Cummins (vc), Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Kane
Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

D’Arcy Short is currently playing for Hobart Hurricanes in the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL).

Australia and India will collide for an action-packed three-match ODI series from January 14-19.

The first ODI will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Jan 14.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here