Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are gearing up for the final battle of the Indian Premier League 2019, at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, on Sunday 12th May; and we’ve brought you all that you need to know before the match:

As Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, both look forward to lifting the record of fourth IPL title, the fans eagerly grab their couches in anticipation. The 2019 title might be won by either, and Mumbai Indian’s skipper – Rohit Sharma or CSK captain – MS Dhoni will be walking away with prize money of 20crore rupees. The norm says, 50 percent of the prize money will go to the franchise with the rest will be distributed among the players. The runner-up too shall be receiving a Rs 12.5 crore cheque and a few mementos.

The players are entitled to individual prizes as well, with the league rewarding personal achievements for fielding, bowling, batting and overall impact by players throughout the course of the tournament.

Emerging Player Award

A player born after 1st April 1993 shall be receiving the Emerging Player Award. He must have played 5 or fewer Test matches or 20 less ODIs, have played in 25 or less IPL matches (at the start of the season) and should have not previously won the award. The winner will be taking away a trophy and a prize money of Rs 10 lakh, with the award being determined a combination of the public vote on the IPL website and the choice of the television commentators.

Previous winners of the award – 
2008 – Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2009 – Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)
2011 – Iqbal Abdullah (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2012 – Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)
2013 – Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)
2014 – Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)
2015 – Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils)
2016 – Mustafizur Rehman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017 – Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)
2018 – Rishabh Pant (Delhi Daredevils)

Orange Cap

The best batsman of the whole tournament, determined by the most runs, will be receiving  the Orange Cap and will be given a prize money of Rs 10 lakh. David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderabad, who has 692 runs in 12 matches, will getting the award this season with no other player having a chance of overtaking him.

 Previous winners of the award – 
2008 – Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab)
2009 – Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings)
2010 – Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)
2011 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2012 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2013 – Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings)
2014 – Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2015 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2016 – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2017 – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2018 – Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Purple Cap

The best bowler likewise will be getting the Purple Cap, determined by the most wickets, and will also receive a prize money of Rs 10 lakh. Till date, Delhi Capitals’ Kagiso Rababda has the most wickets with 25 from 12 games, however, CSK’s Imran Tahir still has a chance to outrun Rababda, as he has 24 wickets and one match to go. If this does not break the tie, the player with the lowest economy rate over the course of the season will get the award.

Previous winners of the award 

2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)
2009 – R P Singh (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)
2011 – Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)
2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)
2013 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2014 – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)
2015 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2016 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2018 – Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)

 Most Valuable Player

The title of the Most Valuable Player will be awarded to the player who has hit the most points (counted with fours, sixes, wickets, bowling dot balls, taking catches and completing stumping’s) and will receive a trophy and Rs 10 Lakh prize money.

 Previous winners of the award 

2008 – Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)
2009 – Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers)
2010 – Jacques Kallis (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2011 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2012 – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2013 – Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)
2014 – Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab)
2015 – Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2016 – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2017 – Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiant)
2018 – Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Sponsored Awards

The players will also get a chance to win a few sponsored awards as well with the catch of the season getting the VIVO Perfect Catch of the Season trophy along with prize money of Rs 10 lakh and also a VIVO Phone.

The batsman with the highest batting strike rate of the season (having played a minimum of 7 matches in the season and faced a minimum of 100 balls) will be awarded the Harrier Super Striker of the Season trophy and a Harrier SUV car.

The player having displayed most flair on the field will get the fbb Stylish Player of the Season award along with a Rs 10 lakh prize money. While the player who changed the outcomes of the matches with their performances will get the Dream11 GameChanger of the Season ward along with Rs 10 lakh prize money.

The IPL 2019 final match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will be starting at 7:30 PM at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday (May 12).

 Here are the squads for MI and CSK –

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddhesh Lad, Ankul Roy, Evin Lewis, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ben Cutting, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Jayant Yadav, Beuran Hendricks and Lasith Malinga.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, K M Asif, Deepak Chahar, N Jagadeesan, Scott Kuggeleijn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here