First ODI
Australian players celebrate | Picture:

Australia on Tuesday defeated India by 10 wickets in the first ODI of the three-match series here at the Wankhede Stadium.

Chasing a target of 256, Australia won the game comfortably, with 74 balls to spare.

Skipper Aaron Finch and David Warne both smashed tons and stitched an unbeaten stand of 258.

Warner and Smith remained unbeaten on 128 and 110, respectively.

Earlier, the visitors won the toss and elected to bowl first here in Mumbai.

After being put on to bat first, India, after a middle-order collapse managed to reach a below-par but defendable total of 248.

India looked to be in control with Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul adding 121 for the second wicket, following Rohit Sharma’s early dismissal.

Ashton Agar then provided Australia with the much-needed breakthrough, before Cummins dismissed Shikhar Dhawan to pile on the misery.

Dhawan and Rahul were dismissed for 74 and 47, respectively.

The Men in Blue lost four wickets within a span of 30 runs, including skipper Virat Kohli, who was caught and bowled by Adam Zampa.

Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant then steadied India’s ship, adding 49 runs for the sixth wicket.

Richardson and Cummins then got rid off Jadeja and Pant, respectively, reducing India to 217/7.

Starc also continued to cause havoc, this time taking off the off-stump of Shardul Thakur.

But, Kuldeep Yadav’s small cameo ensured India cross the 250-run mark.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here