NZ vs IND: First T20I | Picture: BCCI

Following their ODI series win against Australia on home soil, India Cricket Team on Friday defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets in the first T20I here at the Eden Park in Auckland.

The Men in Blue chased down a total fo 204, with an over to spare, to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20I series.

Eden Park, which is regarded as a high-scoring venue, lived up to its expectations as batsman overpowered the bowlers.

Chasing a mammoth target of 203, India didn’t have the best of starts as they lost the wicket of Rohit Sharma, with less than 2- runs on the scoreboard.

But, with KL Rahul and skipper Virat Kohli firing on all cylinders, the visitors managed to cross the 100-run, before the end of the 10th over.

The pair added 99 runs before Rahul was dismissed for a score of 56 (27). He was dismissed by Ish Sodhi.

Six runs later, the skipper was also given his marching orders, following a brilliant diving catch by Martin Guptill. Kohli was dismissed for 45.

After the dismissal of Rahul and Kohli, the game was up for grabs for both the teams.

But, Shreyas Iyer’s excellent counter-attacking approach, which included five boundaries and three sixes, India won the game with an over to spare.

Earlier, Virat Kohli had won the toss and decided to bowl first in Auckland.

New Zealand managed to put on a massive 203/5 after 20 overs, after openers Colin Munro and Martin Guptill gave them a great start.

The Kiwis first dismissal came in the form of Guptill, who was soon followed by his opening partner, Munro.

Guptil and Munro were dismissed for 30 and 59, respectively.

Colin De Grandhomme was also sent back to the pavilion without even ticking the scoreboard.

But, a 50+ each score from skipper Williamsson and Ross Taylor saw the Kiwis cross the 200-run mark.

The second T20I will be played at the same venue on Sunday.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here