Team India
Team India | Picture: BCCI

Team India has taken an unbeatable 1-0 lead in the three-match series by defeating South Africa by 7 wickets in the second T20 match played in Mohali on Wednesday.

After losing the toss, the South African team came out to bat and scored 149 runs after losing 5 wickets in 20 overs and gave India a target of 150 runs to win.

In response, India chased the target with an over to spare, losing just 3 wickets in the process. For India, captain Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 72 off 52 balls with the help of four fours and three sixes.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan scored 40 runs off 31 balls. His innings included four fours and a six.

Quinton de Kock, captaining for the first time, could not guide his team to victory despite scoring a half-century. Meanwhile, Virat Kohli for his exploits was adjudged Man of the Match.

South Africa scored 149 runs for the loss of five wickets and gave India a target of 150 runs to win. For the visiting team, only Captain Quinton de Kock was only one to get a 50+ score while Temba Bavuma missed his half-century by one run.

South Africa had a decent start with an opening 31-run stand between captain Quinton de Kock and Reeja Hendrix. In the fourth over, Deepak Chahar provided the first breakthrough for the Indian team. Chahar dismissed Hendrix for just 6 runs.

De Cock scored 52 runs off 37 balls. Bavuma scored 49 runs off 43 balls. Deepak Chahar took two wickets for the Men in Blue while Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, and Hardik Pandya bagged a wicket each.

India and South Africa will lock horns in the 3rd T20I in Bengaluru on Sunday.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here