INDvsNZ, India vs New Zealand, Hamilton, T20I, Series win, Team India, Seddon Park
Team India loses heart-breakingly by 4 runs in the 3rd T20I game of the three-match series on Sunday at Seddon Park in Hamilton. Kiwis register the win and take the series 2-1. 
New Zealand, who started off batting, posted a target of 212/4 in their 20 overs. Mitchell Santner and Daryl Mitchell claimed two wickets each as the hosts restricted India to 208/6 in the chase of 213 runs.
Tim Seifert of the host team has been named the T20I Player of the Series after finishing as the top run-scorer, with 139 runs at a strike rate of 173.75 at the top of the order.
With a six to start and a boundary to finish the final, the host batted a mammoth score for the men-in-blue to chase. However, the Indian middle-order batsmen failed to keep the momentum up. Dinesh Karthik’s towering six over the mid-wicket kept India in the hunt till the end. 
“Pretty disappointing to not get to the finishing line. 210-odd was always going to be tough, and we were in the game right till the end, but New Zealand held their nerve well and they deserved to win. We started off well in the ODIs, and the boys will be disappointed not getting to the finishing line in the T20s. Lots of positives, and a few mistakes, so there’s a lot of material to move ahead,” expressed India stand-in captain Rohit Sharma.
Meanwhile, the Kiwis captain Kane Williamson said, “It’s great to get across the line tonight. It was a fairly short series. The first performances were our best, and there were some learnings in the second one. For it to go to the last couple of balls, I knew India would come back strong, and it was a great series to be a part of. The nature of international cricket is such that we have to play Bangladesh at home now, so looking forward to that as well.”
Colin Munro top scored with his 40-ball 72 while Tim Seifert (43), Kane Williamson (27), Colin de Groundhomme (30), Daryl Micthell (19*) and Ross Taylor (14*) all contributed to the total.
Team India stand-in captain Rohit Sharma won the toss earlier today and opted to bowl first. 
A quick peek at the latest changes in both the teams:
India replaces Yuzvendra Chahal with Kuldeep Yadav. Meanwhile, the Kiwis rested their fast bowler Lockie Ferguson and brought in debutant Blair Tickner.

India won the 2nd T20I against New Zealand in Auckland by 7 wickets to level the 3-match series 1-1. Chasing a target of 159, India rode on a flying start given by skipper Rohit Sharma’s 50. Shikhar Dhawan (30) and Vijay Shankar (14) moved the chase ahead before Rishabh Pant (40*) and MS Dhoni (20*) took India home in the 19th over. New Zealand has owned the first T20I in Wellington.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here