Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians: IPL 2019 champions

Mumbai Indians were crowned champions as they beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in IPL 2019 final.

Winning the toss, the Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma opted to bat first in the crucial finale.

After a slow start in the first two overs, Quinton de Kock smashed three sixes in Deepak Chahar’s over giving Mumbai’s run-rate a much-needed boost.

The Proteas wicket-keeper gave a good start to Mumbai but it all derailed soon with Chennai Super Kings picking wickets at regular intervals.

In the last five overs, Pollard and Hardik Pandya combined to good effect helping Mumbai give a respectable target of 150 to Chennai.

Pandya scored 16 runs off 10 balls smashing a six and a four in his short stay at the crease.

Keiron Pollard starred for the Mumbai Indians with an unbeaten innings of 41 runs off 25 balls smashing three boundaries and as many maximums.

Chahar was the star of Chennai bowling attack as he picked three wickets while Thakur and Tahir picked a couple of wickets each.

Chasing just 150, Faf du Plessis ensured a good start for the ‘Men in Yellow’ as he played a blistering innings of 26 runs off 13 balls hitting three boundaries and a solitary maximum.

After the dismissal of the Proteas skipper, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni were dismissed for single-digit scores putting Chennai in a place of tension.

With 62 runs needed off five overs, Shane Watson caused havoc but his innings of 80 runs off 59 balls smashing eight boundaries and four maximums went in vain as Chennai failed to score 9 runs from the last over after losing Watson in the last over.

Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar were the heroes for Mumbai Indians as they bowled brilliant spells to win the IPL 2019 title for Mumbai Indians. Both conceded 14 runs and while the former picked a couple of wickets, Chahar got the important wicket of Raina.

Mumbai Indians have been crowned the IPL champions for the fourth time, the most for any side.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here