Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma celebrates his half-century (Photo:

Led by Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians completely outplayed the Kolkata Knight Riders in every department and won the match by 9 wickets.

Winning the toss, the Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma chose to field first.

After scoring only 5 runs in the first two overs, Chris Lynn accelerated the innings and helped Kolkata Knight Riders score 49 by the end of the powerplay overs.

Hardik Pandya dismissed both the openers with Gill only mustering 9 runs off the 16 balls he faced.

On the other hand, Lynn scored 41 runs off 29 balls smashing a couple of boundaries and four maximums.

With Robin Uthappa and Dinesh Karthik in the middle, Kolkata’s run-rate dropped sharply as both the batsmen failed to get the runs ticking.

Skipper Karthik returned to the pavilion after scoring 3 runs off 9 deliveries.

Andre Russell was dismissed on a golden duck by Lasith Malinga.

Nitish Rana chipped in with 26 runs off 13 balls, hitting three maximums towards the end helping Kolkata post a respectable total of 133 runs on the board.

Uthappa ended up with 40 runs off 47 balls getting a solitary boundary and three sixes in his stay at the crease.

Malinga ended the innings with three wickets while Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya picked two wickets each.

Chasing just 134, Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma gave a good start to the home side as they scored 46 runs off the first six overs.

de Kock was dismissed after scoring 30 runs off 23 balls courtesy of a brilliant outstretched Karthik catch which is definitely a contender for ‘Catch of the Season’.

The Proteas wicket-keeper smashed a solitary boundary and three maximums in his stay at the crease.

Then, Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav remained unbeaten till the end helping Mumbai stage a 9-wicket win and top the IPL 2019 points table.

Sharma scored 55 runs off 48 balls scoring eight boundaries and Yadav scored 46 runs off 27 balls hitting five boundaries and a couple of maximums.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here