Gary Stead with Kane Williamson (Photo: NZ Herald)

New Zealand have named their official 15-man squad for the upcoming 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand Cricket head coach Gary Stead said that he trusts the Kane Williamson-led squad and believes that they can win the first World Cup for their country.

“We’ve got a squad here of 15 players that we think can give us a really, really good chance of going far into the tournament,” he said.

Stead continued “If we play close to our potential, then hopefully we can do New Zealand proud.”

With Tim Sierfet injuring his finger in a domestic match last month, uncapped player in One-Day Internationals, Tom Blundell has been called up for the World Cup to be a back-up for first choice wicket-keeper Tom Latham.

Ish Sodhi has been included in the 15-man squad as the second spinner with Mitchell Santner taking the prime slot. Todd Astle has missed out on making it to the squad and the 32-year old would be hoping to play his first World Cup in 2023 in India where pitches are more spin-friendly.

“The spinners was very tough, and both had signs at times that they should’ve been the one that was selected… but at the end of the day that’s my call to make,” Stead said.

Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls and Colin Munro are the three openers with Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Tom Latham making up the core of the middle order.

Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme are the all-rounders in the squad. The pace battery consists of Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Colin Munro, Tom Latham (wk), Tom Blundell (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here