The Hundered
England players at The Hundred draft

Rashid Khan, Steve Smith, David Warner are all set to play in ‘The Hundred’ next year after they were all picked in the first player draft.

The first draft went to the Trent Rockets, who picked ICC’s world number T20I bowler, Rashid Khan.

Australia’s Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc were signed by Welsh Fire while David Warner was picked by Southern Brave.

Smith took to Instagram and said that he is excited to participate for next year’s inaugural season.

West Indies’ Andre Russell was also picked in the first round by Southern Brave.

Other players who signed the draft were Nathan Coulter-Nile (Trent Rockets), Sandeep Lamichhane (Oval Invincibles), Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Nabi both by (both London Spirit).

However, Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga, Kagiso Rabada have all been snubbed from the draw. Babar Azam, Quinton De Kock and Kieron Pollard are the others who won’t be participating in the Tournament.

In February, England and Wales Cricket Board confirmed that first-class counties have agreed to play ‘The Hundred, which is a hundred ball format.

The Tournament will see 8 new teams from England and Wales will represent 18 counties.

Both Men’s and Women’s team will participate in the tournament.

The Trent Rockets (Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Leicestershire) will play their home games at the Trent Bridge in Nottingham. The Team will be coached by former New Zealand skipper Stephen Fleming.

Southern Brave will be representing the historic counties of Hampshire and Sussex. The team will play their home ground at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. Former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene will mentor the team.

Manchester Originals (Lancashire), who will play their home matches at Old Trafford, will be coached by former Australia opener Simon Katich.

Northern Superchargers (Yorkshire and Northumberland), who will be coached by Darren Lehmann, will play their home fixtures at Headingley, Leeds.

The Oval will be the home venue of the Oval Invincibles (Surrey and Kent), who’ll be under the guidance of Tom Moody.

Welsh Fire, the only team to represent Wales, will be hosting teams at the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff, Wales. World Cup-winning coach Gary Kirsten will lead Cymru’s, who’ll be representing Somerset, Gloucestershire and Welsh county of Glamorgan.

The ‘Home of Cricket’, The Lord’s will serve as the home of London Spirit (Essex, Middlesex and Northamptonshire). Shane Warne will mentor the team.

Led by England all-rounder Chris Woakes, Birmingham Phoenix will represent Warwickshire and Worcestershire counties. The team will be under the watchful eyes of Andrew McDonald, play home matches at Edgbaston.







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here