Rawalpindi Test
PAK v SL | Picture: BCCI

As Test cricket returned to Pakistan after a decade, hosts Pakistan restricted Sri Lanka 202/5 on day one of the Rawalpindi Test before bad light stopped play here on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka had won the toss and elected to bat first in the first of the two-match Test series at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, which last hosted a Test match back in 2004.

The visitors had a great start, orchestrated by a 96-run stand for the opening wicket between Dimuth Karunaratne and Oshada Fernando.

Skipper Karunaratne, after completing his fifty, was dismissed for 59 by Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Naseem Shah then scalped Fernando, who played a knock of 40, restricting Sri Lanka to 109/2.

Kusal Mendis and Dinesh Chandimal were dismissed cheaply Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Abbas respectively.

But Angelo Matthews and Dhananjaya de Silva steadied Sri Lanka’s ship, adding 62-run for the fifth wicket, as the visitors crossed the 150-run mark.

Naseem Shah then got the much-needed breakthrough, dismissing veteran Matthews for 31.

At stumps, Silva was batting on 38 while Niroshan Dickwella was also unbeaten on 11.

Sri Lanka will resume play on day two of Rawalpindi Test at 202/5.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here