Virat Kohli celebrating his half-century (Photo:

Big knocks from Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers helped the Royal Challengers Bangalore to put up 200+ runs on the board for the first time in IPL 2019.

Virat Kohli made a few changes to the side that was on a losing streak with Tim Southee and Pawan Negi coming in for Shimron Hetmyer and Umesh Yadav. Washington Sundar’s continuous exclusion from the playing XI is still a puzzle to fans and cricket experts alike.

Parthiv Patel and Virat Kohli gave a good start to the home side as Bangalore scored 53 runs in the powerplay overs without losing a wicket. Soon after that, Patel gave away his wicket to Nitish Rana after scoring 25 runs off 24 balls.

Then, Kohli and AB de Villiers strung together a century partnership at a strike rate of more than 200.

The skipper was the first to depart as his powerful straight drive was caught by Kuldeep Yadav in a brilliant reflex action. Kohli scored 84 runs off 49 deliveries scoring 9 boundaries and 2 maximums in his stay at the crease.

AB de Villiers ended with 63 runs off 32 balls scoring 5 boundaries and 4 maximums in the process. The former Proteas skipper was caught at the boundary line by Shubhman Gill when he tried to go for another maximum.

A fast-tracked innings by Marcus Stoinis in the end consisting of 3 boundaries and 1 six helped the Royal Challengers Bangalore cross the 200-run mark for the first time in this season of the Indian Premier League. The Australian powerhouse remained unbeaten with 28 runs off 13 balls.

While chasing 206, Sunil Narine got out pretty early in the innings ending with just 10 runs against his name.

Chris Lynn and Robin Uthappa have eased the pressure on the middle order with some boundaries ensuring the continuous run-flow.

Live score: KKR 68/1 off 7 overs Chris Lynn 30* (20), Robin Uthappa 21* (15)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here