Gillette T20I series: Australia vs Sl third T20I
David Warner and Steve Smith | Picture:

Australia on Friday defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in the third T20I, thus completing an emphatic 3-0 series whitewash at the MCG.

The Hosts had won the first and second T20I in Adelaide and Brisbane, respectively.

Chasing 143, The Aussies got off to a brilliant start as opener Aaron Finch and David Warner stitched 69 runs for the first wicket.

However, Lahiru Kamara broke their resistance in the 9th over, dismissing Aaron Finch in the 9th over.

Steve Smith and Ben McDermott then followed Finch, respectively, to the dugout as Australia were reduced to 99/3.

Ashton Turner then joined Warner in the middle and the pair ensured Australia crossed the line without any further hiccups.

The pair reinforced an unbeaten 46 runs stand as Australia chased the target with 14 balls to spare.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka lost the toss and were asked to bat first.

Kusal Perera’s 57 off 45 balls helped Sri Lanka reach 143 from their share of overs.

The southpaw held his end and battled his way before being dismissed by Pat Cummins.

Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksha also played handy contributions for the Lankan Lions.

For Australia, skipper Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson and Mitchell Starc scalped a couple of wickets each.

Australia will now entertain Pakistan for a three-match T20I series, starting from November 3.

Both the teams will then face other in a two-match Test series.







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here