Asia XI
Virat Kohli | Picture: Twitter

Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis will be leading World XI squad for the two-match Mujibur Rahman Centenary T20I series against Asia XI.

The squad, which will be mentored by Tom Moody, also includes West Indies’ veterans Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard while young wicket-keeper Nicholas Pooran has also been included.

England’s Alex Hales and Jonny Bairstow were included alongside compatriot and spinner Adil Rashid. Australia’s Andrew Tye and New Zealand’s Mitchell McClenaghan have also made the cut.

Asia XI, meanwhile, consists of six Indian players including skipper Virat Kohli and young wicket-keeper batsmen Rishabh Pant. The other Indian players who were included in the squad are Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav.

Considering India’s hectic schedule, Kohli’s participation is subject to confirmation while KL Rahul will feature for just one match.

World XI: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (C), Nicholas Pooran, Ross Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Asia XI: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Tamim Iqbal, Virat Kohli, Liton Das, Rishabh Pant, Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lasith Malinga, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

The two-match T20I series will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla International Stadium in Dhaka on March 18 and 21.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here