Virat Kohli
ICC ODI Team of the Year | Picture: ICC

India skipper Virat Kohli on Wednesday was named captain in ICC’ Test and ODI Team of the Year, having already won the ‘2019 Spirit of Cricket’ Award for his gesture against Australia in last year’s ICC Cricket World Cup.

Under the leadership of Kohli, India won the Test series in West Indies, as well as home series’ against South Africa and Bangladesh, respectively.

Consequently, the Men in Blue currently holds the top spot in the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) table.

In 2019, Virat had scored 1377 and 612 runs in ODI and Test cricket, respectively.

Among the other Indian players, Mayank Agarwal has also found a spot in the Test squad while Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav have been named in the ODI Team of the Year.

Mayank Agarwal is the highest run-scoring Indian in Tests with 754 runs, including two double tons.

Rohit, on the other hand, named ODI player of the year with 1490 runs, most by anyone in the calendar year.

Shami is the leading wicket-taker in ODI with 42 wickets while Kuldeep has 32 dismissals to his name.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2019: Mayank Agarwal (IND), Tom Latham (NZ), Marnus Labuschagne (AUS), Virat Kohli (C)(IND), Steve Smith (AUS), Ben Stokes (ENG), BJ Watling (NZ), Pat Cummins (AUS), Mitchell Starc (AUS), Matt Henry (NZ) & Nathan Lyon (AUS).

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2019: Rohit Sharma (IND), Shai Hope (WI), Virat Kohli (C)(IND), Babar Azam (PAK), Kane Williamson (NZ), Ben Stokes (ENG), Jos Butler (ENG), Mitchell Starc (AUS), Mohammed Shami (IND), Trent Boult (NZ) & Kuldeep Yadav (IND).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here