Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has invited some prominent former Indian cricketers to his oath-taking ceremony as premier on August 11, party spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry said on Wednesday.

Speaking to the media outside Pakistan’s Supreme Court, Chaudhry said that former cricketers Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, and Navjot Singh Sidhu have been invited, along with Bollywood actor Aamir Khan.

The PTI, led by 65-year-old Khan, has emerged as the single largest party in the National Assembly after the July 25 elections, but it is still short of numbers to form the government on its own. Khan on Monday said that he would take oath as prime minister on August 11.

A party official had earlier also said that PTI is also considering inviting the leaders of SAARC countries, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, to his oath-taking ceremony. But an invite has not been extended so far.

Chaudhry had on Tuesday said on Twitter that they would take the decision on whether foreign dignitaries will be invited after consulting with the Pakistan Foreign Office.

“Media speculations about international dignitaries attending PM oath ceremony are not correct. We have sought the advice of the Foreign Office on the matter and will decide accordingly #PTI,” he had tweeted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here